top of page
DSC_0287.JPG

Visit the Tower

In Termes d'Armagnac, in the heart of the Armagnac Adour Community of Communes, the Tower is one of the three heritage sites of the Val d'Adour tourist country.

THE visit: An enlarged itinerary 

The Medieval Academy offers you an immersive experience in the 13th century throughout the historic site.

The visit begins as soon as you acquire your entry ticket in the new reception building at the foot of the castle.

Before climbing the steps of the keep, you can stroll through the shaded park where various medieval games await you, to discover with family or friends; then you will be able to admire the functioning of an authentic medieval forge, the first stone of the artisan village, a real place of sharing and entertainment.

The medieval keep, the heart of your visit:

The museography has been completely redesigned and redesigned to offer you a fun and original visit.

Pierre and Agnès, your two visiting companions, will guide you throughout your adventure.

The first rooms provide you with keys to understanding the history of the site, its architectural evolution and its importance in the 13th century.

Then let yourself be transported 700 years into the past and take part in the lordly life of the palace. Explore the kitchen, the armory, the lordly bedroom and the aula, reconstructed with attention to detail and authenticity.

Finally, the keep terrace offers you a breathtaking view of the Adour and Arros valleys, as well as the Pyrenees mountain range.

A site in constant evolution 

From 2019 a new impetus to overhaul the entire medieval site is driven by the association, in order to offer you an increasingly immersive visit each year.

The artisan village is gradually emerging and will very soon constitute a real fun and educational journey. The blacksmith, the potter, the woodworker and many other craftsmen will share their knowledge and secrets with you, bringing back to life the essential trades of the Late Middle Ages.

The equestrian jousting stadium and its entirely wooden stands with 330 seats should be operational by summer. A place for shows and games, this new space will immerse you in the fascinating world of chivalry tournaments.

The castle mound of MonterrAn

The castle motte, or feudal motte, is an artificial or semi-artificial mound of earth on which a wooden keep is built at its top. These buildings assert seigniorial power and shape the medieval landscape. Today listed, the Monterran castle mound is one of the largest in the south-west, it is made up of two mounds: the largest vast of 4000m², and the second, smaller, on which the traces of the stone foundations of the Romanesque church of Saint-Barthélemy are still visible. The motte, located in the northern forest of Termes d'Armagnac, is accessible from the tower by the PR1 hiking trail of approximately 5km.

region.jpg
32-logo-gers.png
logo-header5.png
vignesdecouvertes_edited.jpg
Logo-plaimont.png
bottom of page

tour de termes-accueil.jpg

Visiter lA Tour

À Termes d’Armagnac, au cœur de la Communauté de Communes Armagnac Adour, la Tour est un des trois sites patrimonial du pays touristique Val d’Adour.

LA visite : Un pArcours Agrandi 

L’Académie médiévale vous propose une expérience immersive dans le XIIIe siècle sur l’ensemble du site historique.

La visite commence dès l’acquisition de votre billet d’entrée dans le nouveau bâtiment d’accueil au pied du château.

Avant de gravir les marches du donjon, vous pourrez déambuler dans le parc ombragé où divers jeux médiévaux vous attendent, à découvrir en famille ou entre amis ; puis vous pourrez admirer le fonctionnement d’une forge médiévale authentique, première pierre du village d’artisans, véritable lieu de partage et d’animation.

Le donjon médiéval, le cœur de votre visite :

La muséographie a été entièrement repensée et remaniée pour vous offrir une visite ludique et originale.

Pierre et Agnès, vos deux compagnons de visite vous guideront tout au long de votre aventure.

Les premières salles vous apportent des clés de compréhension sur l’histoire du site, son évolution architecturale et son importance au XIIIe siècle.

Laissez-vous ensuite transporter 700 ans dans le passé et prenez part à la vie seigneuriale du palais. Explorez la cuisine, l’armurerie, la chambre seigneuriale et la aula, reconstituées dans le souci du détail et de l’authenticité.

Enfin la terrasse du donjon vous offre une vue imprenable sur les vallées de l’Adour et de l’Arros, ainsi que sur la chaîne des Pyrénées.

1/8

Confection du cuir

Mise en place du village médiéval

Histoire contée

Confection du cuir

1/7

Un site en constAnte évolution 

À partir de 2019 un nouvel élan pour remanier l’ensemble du site médiéval est impulsé par l’association, afin de vous proposer chaque année une visite de plus en plus immersive.

Le village d’artisans émerge peu à peu et constituera très prochainement un véritable parcours ludique et pédagogique. Le forgeron, le potier, le boisselier et bien d’autres artisans vous feront part de leurs savoirs et de leurs secrets, en redonnant vie aux métiers incontournables du Bas Moyen-âge.

Le stade de joute équestre et ses gradins entièrement en bois de 330 places assises devraient être opérationnels d’ici l’été. Lieu de spectacle et de jeu, ce nouvel espace vous plongera dans l’univers fascinant des tournois de chevalerie.

La motte cAstrAle de MonterrAn

La motte castrale, ou motte féodale, est un monticule de terre artificiel ou semi-artificiel sur lequel est bâti un donjon en bois à son sommet. Ces édifices affirment le pouvoir seigneurial et façonnent le paysage médiéval. Aujourd’hui inscrite, la motte castrale de Monterran est une des plus vastes du sud-ouest, elle est composée de deux mottes : la plus grande vaste de 4000m², et la seconde, plus petite, sur laquelle les traces des fondations en pierre de l’église romane Saint-Barthélemy sont encore visibles. La motte, située dans la forêt nord de Termes d’Armagnac, est accessible depuis la tour par le chemin de randonnée PR1 d’environ 5km.