top of page

Who are we ?

 

The Medieval and Popular Academy of Termes, created in 2012, is the result of the merger of two associations: The Friends of the Tour de Termes and the Lions of Termes. With a cultural and socio-educational vocation, the association aims to:

  • The artistic and cultural animation of the medieval sites of Termes d'Armagnac, the Tower and the castle motte of Monterran, designed as a tool for promoting and safeguarding medieval and Occitan heritage. But also participation in multi-period public events on other sites. This takes the form of medieval workshops around crafts, theater, dance, and larger events including medieval festivals.

  • To bring together around the two historic sites of Termes, the greatest number of different people wishing to be part of a process of transmitting knowledge and know-how of medieval arts including crafts, culture and history of Late Middle Ages.

  • To anchor itself in the territory and participate in its influence as one of the three major heritage sites of the tourist country of Pays Val d’Adour. The association multiplies partnerships with public authorities and also private individuals including cultural associations, local artisans and traders, with the aim of respectively proposing a common and advantageous offer, and of defending the territory and its emblematic products.

All activities are based on the principles, philosophy and methods of Popular Education, around the values of accessibility, sharing and tolerance.

Development projects

Each of the projects is developed on the principle of accessibility to all audiences as well as the desire to present the different aspects of medieval culture and arouse curiosity about this heritage.

  • The museography of the dungeon

The objective of the reconstruction part is to recreate everyday objects and bring the dungeon rooms back to life. With a view to transmitting the know-how of medieval arts, the reconstruction part of the museum is also supplied by objects created using traditional techniques by the association or the craftsmen running the site, such as cupboard fittings, pottery, costumes or certain pieces of armor.

  • The establishment of a medieval equestrian jousting stadium

Through this space, the association wishes to place the horse at the heart of its development project. An opportunity to develop archaeological experimentation around medieval equestrian equipment (farriery), the stadium is part of the promotion of this heritage and the transmission of ancestral know-how linked to horses.

It would also be a place dedicated to artistic development for local actors, a stage for local artists offering all types of events for all audiences.

  • The creation of an artisan village in the shaded park of the Tower

The association is working towards the emergence of a true village of artisans working using medieval techniques; all based on serious historical research work consistent with the medieval period of the Château de Termes. Metallurgy was chosen as a starting point with the creation of a blacksmithing workshop started in 2019. This new course must be able to offer activities for all audiences, from discovery courses to training, and also to supply the collections of the museum through its productions. The village will thus allow the multiplication of activities and will complete the permanent offer of the site during school holidays.

  • The development of a medieval garden near the Saint-Pierre church

The garden holds an important place in the medieval world. Indispensable for medicine and nutrition, it is also a place of meditation and walks in religious and seigniorial spaces. The medieval garden project is the subject of real long-term thinking. In connection with current issues, the project aims to offer local production following medieval techniques, promoting the many forgotten plants of this period. This will also make it possible to reconstruct life at the time of the castle's heyday in the most complete and faithful way possible.

  • Safeguarding the Monterran castle mound

Typical construction of the feudal system, the castle mound, ancestor of fortified castles, is an artificial or semi-artificial mound of earth on which a keep rests, in most cases made of wood. This termois heritage is made up of a double mound of very imposing dimensions compared to other examples that have come down to us. This is partly explained by the rare fact that the stone Saint-Barthélemy church alone occupies the smaller of the two mottes. In charge of this exceptional site, the association must safeguard it and raise awareness of this type of construction, which is still very little known to the general public. With this in mind, students from the Riscle agricultural high school are coming in March 2021 to clear the castle mound in order to enhance it and create an educational trail on the PR1 hiking trail.

Theater at the Tour de Termes d'Armagnac

Some numbers

 

The Tour de Terms is:

  • nearly 8,000 visitors per year

  • 4000 people welcomed at all events

  • 115 members, including 45 active members

  • 2 full-time employees

  • 4 volunteers in civic service

  • 1 theater section

  • 1 historical reconstruction section (specializing in crafts from the medieval period)

Virtually

  • more than 520,000 pages viewed on the website per year

  • 3,062 likes on Facebook

  • 1,132 subscribers on Instagram

  • 448 followers on Twitter

region.jpg
32-logo-gers.png
logo-header5.png
Logo-plaimont.png
Logo_CCAA_1.jpg
bottom of page

Qui sommes-nous ?

 

L’Académie médiévale et populaire de Termes, créée en 2012, est issue de la fusion de deux associations : Les amis de la Tour de Termes et des Lions de Termes. À vocation culturelle et socio-éducative, l’association a pour but :

  • L’animation artistique et culturelle des sites médiévaux de Termes d’Armagnac, la Tour et la motte castrale de Monterran, conçue comme un outil de valorisation et de sauvegarde du patrimoine médiéval et occitan. Mais aussi la participation à des animations publiques multi-époques sur d’autres sites. Cela se concrétise par des ateliers médiévaux autour de l’artisanat, du théâtre, de la danse, et des manifestations de plus grande envergure dont les fêtes médiévales.

  • De rassembler autour des deux sites historiques de Termes, le plus grand nombre de personnes différentes désireuses de s’inscrire dans une démarche de transmission des savoirs et savoir-faire des arts médiévaux dont l’artisanat, de la culture et de l’histoire du Bas Moyen Âge.

  • De s’ancrer sur le territoire et participer à son rayonnement en tant que l’un des trois sites patrimoniaux majeurs du pays touristique du Pays Val d’Adour. L’association multiplie les partenariats avec les collectivités publiques et aussi les privés dont les associations culturelles, les artisans et commerçants locaux, dans le but respectivement de proposer une offre commune et avantageuse, de défendre le territoire et ses produits emblématiques.

Toutes les activités se déclinent selon les principes, la philosophie et les méthodes de l’Éducation Populaire, autour des valeurs d’accessibilité, de partage et de tolérance.

Les projets de développement

Chacun des projets est élaboré sur le principe de l’accessibilité à tous les publics ainsi que la volonté de présenter les différents aspects de la culture médiévale et susciter la curiosité pour ce patrimoine.

  • La muséographie du donjon

L’objectif de la partie reconstitution est de recréer les objets du quotidien et de redonner vie aux salles du donjon. Dans une optique de transmission des savoir-faire des arts médiévaux, la partie reconstitution du musée est aussi alimentée par des objets créés suivant les techniques traditionnelles par l’association ou les artisans animant le site, tels les ferrures des placards, les poteries, les costumes ou certaines pièces d’armures.

  • La mise en place d’un stade de joute équestre médiéval

Par cet espace, l’association désire placer le cheval au cœur de son projet de développement. Occasion de développer l’expérimentation archéologique autour des équipements équestres médiévaux (maréchalerie), le stade rentre dans le cadre de la valorisation de ce patrimoine et dans la transmission de savoir-faire ancestraux en lien avec le cheval.

Ce serait également un lieu dédié au développement artistique pour les acteurs du territoire, une scène pour les artistes locaux proposant tout type d’évènements à destination de tous les publics.

  • La création d’un village d’artisans dans le parc ombragé de la Tour

L’association œuvre à l’émergence d’un véritable village d’artisans travaillant selon les techniques médiévales ; le tout basé sur un travail de recherches historiques sérieux et cohérent avec la période médiévale du château de Termes. La métallurgie a été choisie comme point de départ avec la création d’un atelier de forge débutée en 2019. Ce nouveau parcours doit être en mesure de proposer des animations tout public, des stages découvertes à la formation, et aussi d’alimenter les collections du musée par ses productions. Le village permettra ainsi la démultiplication des animations et complètera l’offre permanente du site en période de vacances scolaires.

  • L’élaboration d’un jardin médiéval près de l’église Saint-Pierre

Le jardin tient une place importante dans le monde médiéval. Indispensable à la médecine et à l’alimentation, il est aussi un lieu de recueillement et de promenade dans les espaces religieux et seigneuriaux. Le projet de jardin médiéval fait l’objet d’une véritable réflexion à long terme. En lien avec les problématiques actuelles, le projet vise à proposer une production locale suivant les techniques médiévale, valorisant les nombreuses plantes oubliées de cette période. Aussi cela permettra de reconstituer la vie à l’époque de l’apogée du château d’une manière la plus complète et fidèle possible.

  • La sauvegarde de la motte castrale de Monterran

Construction typique du système féodal, la motte castrale, ancêtre des châteaux forts, est un monticule de terre artificiel ou semi-artificiel sur lequel repose un donjon, dans la plupart des cas fait de bois. Ce patrimoine termois est composé d’une double motte aux dimensions très imposantes comparées aux autres exemples qui nous sont parvenus. Cela s’explique en partie par le fait rare que l’église Saint-Barthélemy en pierre occupe à elle seule la plus petite des deux mottes. En charge de ce site exceptionnel, l’association se doit de le sauvegarder et de faire connaître ce type de construction encore très peu connu par le grand public. Dans cette optique, des étudiants du lycée agricole de Riscle viennent au mois de mars 2021 débroussailler la motte castrale afin de la valoriser et de créer un sentier pédagogique sur le chemin de randonnée PR1.

Théâtre à la Tour de Termes d'Armagnac

Quelques Chiffres

 

La Tour de Termes c’est :

  • près de 8000 visiteurs par an

  • 4000 personnes accueillies sur l’ensemble des animations

  • 115 adhérents, dont 45 membres actifs

  • 2 salariés à temps plein

  • 4 volontaires en service civique

  • 1 section théâtre

  • 1 section danse médiévale

  • 1 section reconstitution historique (spécialisée sur l’artisanat de la période médiévale)

Virtuellement

  • plus de 520.000 pages consultées sur le site internet par an

  • 2 644 mentions « J’aime » sur Facebook

  • 928 abonnés sur Instagram

  • 448 followers sur Twitter